top of page

I'm Back!

I realized it's been a year since my last entry. There have been a lot of exciting things happening that I love to share with you:

1. I've finished my first photo essay project in my course last May and got an A+ and a really encouraging feedback from a 12-minute long detailed audio file critique.

"There's something serious going on in your shots, it's not play. The black and white is something I think you should keep on doing. You're on to something great- you're bringing out the texture, form, light, shadow and patterns. The story. Wonderful series all together. I appreciate your work. Continue to try to look at things with fresh eyes. Wonderful work, I look forward to seeing more." - D. Matlack

It wasn't an easy task and I really appreciate the encouragement. 1 down, 3 more to go!

2. Two of my personal projects are done:

  • Circumstance: Photography of the Human Condition (14 x 11" coffee table photography book)

  • People: A Smorgasbord of Black and White Portrait Shots (8 x 11" coffee table photography book)

Both are my personal collection and work as portfolio. I still haven't figured out a way to publish / produce more copies of them (watch this space!), but it's REALLY very different when you see your work printed and tangible.

3. My photo was one of the 400 images chosen among 7,600 international participants (over 21,000 images) to be exhibited in Berlin Blue Art Gallery from June 2-11, 2017. Even though I couldn't be there, it's an honor to have the portrait of my grandmother seen by many people. This is my tribute to one of the most unselfish, strong women I know.

This photo means a lot to me. My grandmother has Alzheimer's. She forgets a lot of things, she often gets scared for not remembering any of us around her, like a little child. But even Alzhimer's disease cannot beat her warm, loving personality. She never forgets to say 'Thank You' and 'God bless you, anak (my child)' even in the midst of her episodes. Her kindness radiates through her eyes. She's 88 years old and lives with us and my parents take care of her. I only get to see her whenever I come home (last was more than 2 years ago). I miss you, Nanay Mameng, this one's for you.

4. I have finally extended my photography 'journey' to film photography.

I have always been fascinated by film photography since childhood. I got my first automatic film camera when I was 8 years old. It was a gift from my aunt, Tita Madre, when I got the 1st Honors academic award in Grade 3. She's my Dad's older sister, an amazing nun from Daughters of Charity who has always been supportive of our talents. It was expensive for a Grade 3 student to have her film developed every time. So sometimes I have to wait for months until I have enough money to send it to a photo lab. I remember how excited I was waiting for how the shots turned out. It always puzzled me how the whole thing happens. It's like magic, and will always be magical for me.

So when I saw these second hand film SLR and Rangefinder cameras (Olympus OM-10 and Yashica 35 GSN) available, I didn't have second thoughts. The Olympus model was 1979 and the Yashica was 1973. Vintage cameras give me butterflies! I haven't used one before but I believe anyone can learn just about anything they are passionate about so I figured it's time.

Never underestimate the vintage and/or 'small' point and shoot cameras. :)

 The little ones. Film cameras with the handy point and shoot Leica that shoots RAW.

Friends asked why I burden myself in using film cameras- they're old, takes a lot of work, not to mention you've to buy films and have them developed. For me, it's going back to the basics, the very essential foundation of photography. It's more than just the thrill of taking a shot and waiting to see how it turned out. It is all about REALLY giving your shot a lot of thought for you only have 36 shots - every shot must be worth it. Even if I shoot manually in my DSLR, using these vintage cameras make me think of my settings, the source of light, the environment and how all of these work together towards my subject more.

Me taking a photo of Jes, the one who took this shot. :)

 Thanks Jes for this shot of me shooting her. :)

Besides, the FEEL of these cameras because they're old (even older than I am!) made me also think about the great photographers of all time - using cameras like these before the digital age to document the most important events or inspiring shots, portraiture, in human history. Shooting in these is like stepping in the past while living at the present. It's highly inspiring. It sets the bar higher, a personal challenge for me to take meaningful photographs without relying on a modern microchip's algorithm. Anyone does not need a DSLR to make a beautiful picture. It makes me appreciate human knowledge more, to be able to make, invent small things like these - it's amazing!

I tested both cameras using Ilford XP2 Super 400 just to make sure that they are working. I then sent them to a photo lab and although I know shooting film teaches you patience, I don't really have that much patience when the lab tells me that I have to wait a week or two for a roll of film - not to mention I have to ride my motorcycle to another town to send it and pick it up. It's pretty expensive too.

I was happy to know that my cameras work. Now the next step:

Learn how to develop my black and white films. 

Thank God for technology. Everything is 'google-able'. After doing my research, and watching countless YouTube videos, the hardest part was finding the darkroom tools and chemicals available here in Thailand. It's hard to locate local suppliers especially when I can't read and type in Thai language. Again, I had to rely on 'google translate' and was more than happy to find one. It felt like Christmas when I received the shipment...and it felt like I was a NEW person (no kidding!) when I developed my first film...pulling that roll from the tank cartridge made me giggle like mad in my own photo lab (a.k.a my bathroom). IT WORKED!!!

I was not aware of the term "film recipe" before. But I have been trying different sorts of black and white films since I started getting 'hooked' on film photography (I bought my cameras mid-May 2017). I use Ilford's LC29 and Rapid Fixer as my main chemicals, for stop baths and washing / wetting agent, I make some alternatives. I was also able to find a mid-range film scanner so I can only print the shots that I love.

I have only been on it for nearly 2 months but I am loving the 'experiments' and the whole learning process...from shooting to digitizing my developed films. 

So that's just about the highlights! Plus I was able to do some photo-gigs for the foundation and friends of the foundation. Life's good!

In the next posts, I will be sharing with you some film recipes and notes from my photography journal. Stay tuned. :)

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page