top of page

Film Test: Ilford XP2 Super 400

Welcome to my series of film tests. If you want to see sample shots from Ilford HP5 Plus 400, click here.

I was impressed with the results from Ilford HP5 Plus 400. I was still keeping a roll of Ilford XP2 Super 400. I bought 4 rolls when I wanted to test the vintage film cameras (Yashica 35 GSN and Olympus OM-10) that I have acquired.

Ilford XP2 Super 400 is a black and white C41 film. It means that it has to be developed using chemicals for colored films. In some countries, it is difficult to find a photo laboratory that develops black and white films. It is 'easier' however, to find shops that develop color films. This is where using this film becomes more convenient.

© J. Balais Photography, 2017. All rights reserved.

Reality check: It wasn't easy for me to find a photo laboratory that still does film development in Phuket. I had to ride to another town and stop at every Kodak shop I come across with. The only one I found told me I had to wait for a week or two for the result (because they had to send my films to Bangkok) and it was ridiculously expensive. After more than a week, (and a lot of frustration), I was able to get my negatives and prints.

Results: Kodak laboratory-processed Ilford XP2 Super 400 film

© J. Balais Photography, 2017. All rights reserved.

Shot from Olympus OM-10.

© J. Balais Photography, 2017. All rights reserved.

Shot from Yashica 35 GSN

I find that images that are shot from my Yashica 35 GSN are somehow always sharper than that of Olympus OM-10.

My thoughts: Kodak processed this using chemicals for colored film. I think it performed the same way as Ilford HP5 Plus 400 developed in chemicals for black and white film which what it's supposed to do. Love the balance in tones, a little bit more grainy once zoomed but unnoticeable.

I was happy that my film cameras worked.

But I asked myself, am I going to be living in emotional roller coaster every time I have to send my films to town? Furthermore, it is super expensive. I know learning always have its 'price', but I can't afford to learn more if I have to sell my cameras next time 'round! :P

So that's when frustration becomes motivation. I decided to learn how to develop my own films. Still a newbie, but loving the whole learning process.

And so going back...I have 2 more rolls of film that needs to be processed in chemicals for colored film. I have not yet found a single supplier for these chemicals...I only have the set for black and white films.

What if....

Yep. It's worth a try for learning's sake!

Film and Developer: Ilford XP2 Super 400 (C41) in Ilfotec LC29 (1:9) Shot with: 1979 Olympus OM-10 Developing time: 8 minutes, 30 seconds Agitation: On the first and last minute. 30 seconds rest and agitation in between.

(My developing routine here.)

Results:

© J. Balais Photography, 2017. All rights reserved.
© J. Balais Photography, 2017. All rights reserved.

It developed, as expected but the film was too thin, it kept on curling even when I placed some weights on the end clip.

© J. Balais Photography, 2017. All rights reserved.

"The Future is Female" (Patong, Phuket)

© J. Balais Photography, 2017. All rights reserved.

Strong Waves. (Kalim, Phuket)

© J. Balais Photography, 2017. All rights reserved.

Strong Wind. (Kalim, Phuket)

My thoughts: Honestly, I am just happy that the film developed. It was difficult of course, to manage and get the curly, purple film scanned but it worked. I have read in some forums that Rapid Fixer doesn't do well in C41 processed films, perhaps that's the reason for the thinness of the negatives. There is considerable loss in contrast, and the tones are very soft as well as increase in grains compared to the ones that are processed using the appropriate C41 chemicals but if black and white chemistry is all you have, it could do. :)

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page