top of page

Film Test: Agfa APX 400

I'm super stoked on black and white film photography and since I am using Ilford developing products, I had tested their HP5 Plus 400 and XP2 Super 400 first.

The more I see films develop right before my eyes (well, not really cause they're in light-sealed tank - but that's how I imagine it happening at least! *turns on X-ray vision* ;)), the more I have these "what if" questions! After all, my last 'what if' led me to try developing a C41 film in black and white chemicals. ;) So what if I used non-Ilford films in Ilford products? Of course, anyone who's been doing black and white photography for quite some time will say this is totally possible. Google says it's possible. My common sense says it's possible. But I am a newbieeeee and I am thirrrrrssssssssty to know for myself! (and I don't believe in everything Google says..and my common sense isn't always sensible haha.)

Or I'm just me and being me I always have unlimited wonders- why do you think I chose to be a teacher? ;)

I love discovering wonders with kindered spirits! But this isn't what this post is all about. If you've read my first film test post, I am on a mission to find my 'Zing!'...my 'soul film'. Ya know, the one that fits me, the one that matches the tones, the feel, the mood of the images that I'm about to capture...like how every student in Hogwarts has their matching wand...unfortunately, there's no Ollivanders Shop for films so I had to test 'em all! I've heard a lot about Agfa APX 400's brilliant performance even in very low light conditions. Reviews say it doesn't disappoint with sharpness and contrast.

© J. Balais 2017. All rights reserved.

I mostly read reviews just to have an idea on how I should develop it, really. I still think that there isn't a 'good' or 'bad' film but it's all a matter of 'taste'. Some photographers like it super sharp, some like the blurry effect, some like the fine grain, some like it gritty and grainy.

If it's gonna be my 'Zing!', of course I have to discover it on my own...not just based on what people say 'would be good' for me. After all, if film photography = passion and passion is a matter of heart and soul, it is something that needs to be felt and experienced (a lot like love *wink). And you do not want people deciding for you on matters of the heart!!! *hear my resounding barbaric yawp!!!* Okay, I got carried away. Finding my 'Zing!'. Right.

Film and Developer: Agfa APX 400 in Ilfotec LC29 (1:19) Shot with: 1973 Yashica 35 GSN Rangefinder Developing time: 8 minutes Agitation: On the first and last minute. 30 seconds rest and agitation in between.

(My developing routine here.) I took this film with me on a sports event, after my Nikon DSLR ran out of battery.

© J. Balais 2017. All rights reserved

First thing I noticed is that it dries pretty flat. I didn't need to put some weights while hanging them. Because it's straight, the negatives were easy to cut and scan.

Results:

© J. Balais 2017. All rights reserved.
© J. Balais 2017. All rights reserved.

"Remember...remember..." what matters to them the most. Anonymous dream. (Kamala, Phuket) © J. Balais 2017

© J. Balais 2017. All rights reserved.

Too Loud to Listen. (Kamala, Phuket) © J. Balais 2017

My thoughts: I am happy that it doesn't blow up the highlights and captures the shadows fairly well, it appears to me, almost even better than Ilford HP5. 'Almost' because looking at all the 37 images from the film closely, it appears to be on the 'softer', 'safer' tonal range than Ilford, not that sharp as it claims to be. Grains are evident, but acceptable. Tones and contrast are okay but it doesn't give me the 'feel' that I am looking for. I'd recommend this film for all around shooting (I shot these in an overcast day, in a covered court). You can't go wrong with this one. It works, but it lacks the contrast and flexibility in range that I want. Just simply not my 'Zing!'

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page